Dean of the Faculty

Faculty Leadership Program

Gain the skills and experience to successfully lead in a variety of roles at Brown.

***Nominations and self-nominations for FY24-25 are now being accepted through UFunds***

***Submission deadline is Monday, April 1, 2024***

Program Goals

The Faculty Leadership Program establishes a new paradigm for faculty leadership at Brown, one that will be initiated by emerging leaders, and will continue to be shaped by a new, shared vision for inclusive excellence. The program will sustain a pipeline of faculty who are prepared to fill university leadership roles and who are equipped to consistently set and achieve ambitious goals for an inclusive community that is enriched and curated by its members.

Participants in the Faculty Leadership Program will refine skills for success in leadership positions while developing support networks both internally and externally. The program is designed to facilitate the creation of individual advancement goals and pathways and provide opportunities for the practical application of newly-acquired skills.

The Faculty Leadership Program will:

  • Initiate and sustain a pipeline of new leaders at Brown who are equipped to guide Brown’s community to continuously improve its culture of inclusive excellence and execute the University’s mission.
  • Provide participants with experiential learning in skills including diversity, equity and inclusion; time management; priority setting; team building; coaching and mentoring; staff oversight; and assessment
  • Support cohort networking and ongoing professional development beyond the formal program period
  • Focus on the balance between leadership aspirations and personal professional research/scholarship goals

Eligibility: Applications will be accepted from associate and full professors (including Professors of the Practice and (Research) faculty), senior lecturers and distinguished senior lecturers. 

Criteria for Selection: Participants will be selected to represent a broad range of academic disciplines and leadership ambitions.

Time commitment and sample program topics

The Faculty Leadership Program will run during the AY24-25 academic year, meeting monthly on Friday afternoons, noon - 3pm. The proposed meeting dates are September 27, October 25, December 13, 2024 and February 7, March 7, April 4, 2025.
. In addition to the monthly in-person three-hour meeting, there will be small assignments in between the meetings. The assignments will range from readings relevant to the month's program topic, to applying learned skills to a current challenge, to small group discussions.

Sample topics include: 

  • University Operations Who does what at Brown, and how do you as a leader get things done?
  • The Art of Adaptive Leadership practical tools and techniques to assist in navigating leadership, organizational optimization and change.
  • Difficult Conversations and Conflict Resolution How to navigate challenging situations with staff, students, and faculty colleagues.


Candidates may be nominated by their department chair or self-nominate. Chair nominations: Chairs are asked to provide a 200 word nomination statement and their candidate's CV. Self-nominations: candidates are asked to provide up to a 500 word application statement and their CV. Self-nominations do not require a statement from the department chair.

Questions? Contact

AY23-24 Cohort

  • Colleen Dalton, Professor of Earth, Environmental, and Planetary Sciences
  • Beth Fussell, Professor of Population Studies and Environment and Society (Research)
  • Emily Hipchen, Senior Lecturer in English
  • Amanda Jamieson, Associate Professor of Molecular Microbiology and Immunology
  • Jim Kellner, Associate Professor of Ecology, Evolution, and Organismal Biology and Environment and Society
  • Sean Lawler, Associate Professor of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine
  • Monica Linden, Distinguished Senior Lecturer in Neuroscience
  • Itohan Osayimwese, Associate Professor of History of Art and Architecture
  • Daniel Rodriguez, Associate Professor of History
  • Kareen Rozen, Professor of Economics
  • Amy Russell, Associate Professor of Classics
  • Anita Shukla, Associate Professor of Engineering
  • Sarah Thomas, Associate Professor of Hispanic Studies
  • Amal Trivedi, Professor of Health Services, Policy and Practice
  • Claire Wardle, Professor of the Practice of Health Services, Policy and Practice
  • Daniel Weinreich, Professor of Ecology, Evolution, and Organismal Biology